Quick Links

Useful Links



Our Local Academy council


The role of Local Academy Councils

Local governance is delivered through Local Academy Councils.

The Trust Board has delegated specific governance oversight functions (through the Scheme of Delegation) to Local Academy Councils. 

Councils meet at least 4 times every academic year (September, December, March and July) and are focused on ensuring the academy’s School Development Plan and performance is progressing, they have a line of communication with the Trust Board through its sub-committees. The LAC are also kept informed of wider academy issues including safeguarding, finance, estates and policy compliance (where defined within the SDP).

Local Academy Councils perform a key role in ensuring that our academies are providing the best possible education for every child, year in, year out.

Each LAC consists of a Chair, Vice Chair, Executive Headteacher (or Headteacher), Parent Elected Councillors and Trust Appointed Councillors. 


Our Local Academy Council


Featherby Infant and Junior Schools- Local Academy Council

01.09.2022 to 31.08.2023



Term of Office/Appointed by

Business Interests

Dave Marsh

Executive Headteacher


to date

Chair at Greenacres Home School Association

Owen McColgan


01.09.2020 to

Trust Appointed Councillor

Employee -
CEO - The Howard Academy Trust

Partner -
Medway Academy of Performing Arts

Member -
Inspiring Change Multi Academy Trust

Emma Pape

Head of School



to date


Members that have served within the last 12 months




Term of Office/Appointed by

Business Interests

Amy Eccles (also known as Amy Massey)



01.09.2018- 01.09.2022


Interim Executive Board


Close family relationship with Executive School Business Manager- Janet Finch


Became Headteacher in 2018

Fay Fautley


01.09.2018 - 01.09.2022



Parent Elected Councillor

Employee - Featherby Primary School

Bob Love (MBE)



01.09.2018 - 01.09.2022


Trust Appointed Councillor

St Bartholomew's School Sydenham, Trust Fund

The Easterbrook Thorley Scholarship of The Boutcher Schools

The Winter Exhibition

Councillor at the following Maritime Academies -

Featherby, Greenacres and Nightingale

Trustee and Director - Southwark Diocesan Board of Education

Governor -

Deansfield Primary School


Trustee at the following -


Bacon's Educational Foundation, Green Coat Educational Trust, Kennington Oval National School (Now Known as Lambeth, St Mark's Church of England Primary School, Shirley Church of England School

Angus Mackay


01.09.2018 - 01.09.2022


Parent Elected Councillor

Connected party - Spouse works at Featherby Primary School


Attendance of the LAC and Declaration of Interests

LAC Attendance & Declaration (August 2023) 


Governance Guidance

Scheme of Delegation
Decision Matrix
Sample Job Description
Code of Conduct

Local Authority Council - Terms of Reference

Governance and Accountability



Contact Details:

C/O Chair of Local Authority Council, Chilham Road, Gillingham, Kent, ME8 6BT